You cannot take the risk of driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances in Florida. All DUI-related offenses are serious, and if you cause an accident while driving under the influence, you will face penalties that might change your life. Therefore, it’s advisable to hire an experienced Orlando DUI lawyer to help you build a strong defense.
According to the Florida State law, DUI is the act being in actual physical control of a vehicle or driving while you are impaired beyond your normal faculties, or while you have an unlawful BAC (blood alcohol content). For you to be found guilty of a DUI charge, the prosecution must establish that you drove or was in actual physical control of a car.
Also, the prosecution must prove that while in actual physical control of the vehicle or driving, you were either under the influence of alcoholic substances, chemical substance, or controlled substance. Note that the standard breath or blood alcohol level in Florida is 0.08%. According to the Florida Statutes Section 316.193, a DUI charge can be proven by demonstrating that the accused’s normal faculties were impaired or by proving that the defendant’s blood alcohol content was 0.08% or higher at the time they were driving.
Each DUI case is always unique, a reason you must have a trained attorney with an outstanding experience in handling DUI cases to guide and represent you. The penalties for a first misdemeanor DUI conviction – if there is no property damage, injuries or other crimes involved – include;
In Florida, judges order probation for all first-time DUI convicts. For a misdemeanor first conviction, the combination of jail time and probation does not exceed one year. Besides, the first-time DUI convicts should complete at least 50 hours of community service as part of their probation. In most cases, drivers convicted of DUI have their personal cars impounded for at least 10 days.
If you are convicted of a second misdemeanor DUI, you are facing up to two years jail time, a maximum of $4,000, and 5-year driver’s license suspension. A third DUI conviction in Florida within a 10-year period is a felony punishable by one year in jail, ten years of driver’s license suspension, and a maximum fine of $5,000.
In addition to the administrative and criminal penalties associated with DUI convictions in Orlando, drivers should consider the ‘additional-legal’ consequences of DUI-related charges and convictions. For instance, if you drive for a living, you will be forced to find another work. With a recent criminal conviction, getting a good job might be challenging.